at the risk of seeming ridiculous…

The Mystery at the End of the Universe

Posted in written thoughts by Charles on October 10, 2008

The central theme that I have explored in this book is that, through science, we human beings are able to grasp at least some of nature’s secrets. We have cracked part of the cosmic code. Why this should be, just why Homo sapiens should carry the spark of rationality that provides the key to the universe, is a deep enigma. We, who are children of the universe — animated stardust — can nevertheless reflect on the nature of that same universe, even to the extent of glimpsing the rules on which it runs. How we have become linked into this cosmic dimension is a mystery. Yet the linkage cannot be denied.

What does it mean? What is Man that we might be party to such privilege? I cannot believe that our existence in this universe is a mere quirk of fate . . . an incidental blip in the great cosmic drama. Our involvement is too intimate. The physical species Homo may count for nothing, but the existence of mind in some organism on some planet in the universe is surely a fact of fundamental significance. Through conscious beings the universe has generated self-awareness. This can be no trivial detail, no minor byproduct of mindless, purposeless forces. We are truly meant to be here.

Paul Davies, The Mind of God

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anthony said, on October 18, 2008 at 08:02

    Hey Chuck.

    Here I go:

    What precisely does he mean by “reflect on the nature of the universe”? Is that a fancy way of saying we can think abstract thought? like possessing some form of “consciousness”? If so, is that a unique trait? Perhaps an animals knows that it is an it or that it is a being. Maybe it recognizes itself in a mirror. I think that’s been demonstrated before.

    Maybe it thinks, “Dude, I totally need to screw that chick now. Or else my genes won’t propagate. Let me strut over there saucily in a highly coordinated display of manly attributes, that I may catch her attention and continue my proud lineage into posterity.” It’s totally self-aware now!

    Agh. IS wonder sufficient evidence? Perhaps it is just an indicator of lack of knowledge. In myself, included. I should… go and actually read the book.

    I love philosophizing. Yet, recently, I’ve been wondering what, if anything, it’s all based on. The desire for it to be true? So things can finally make sense? I wonder if wonder truly comes from a wondrous thing. Why am I wondering these things? How wondrous to be rapt in this state of wonder at how I’m wondering about this question.

    Anyways. How is Harvard?


Leave a Reply

